Awkward hugs and reading subtexts

Standard

The day I received the news that I would be graduating First Honorable Mention instead of Valedictorian, as most people expected me to be, the first thing that came to mind was, “How in the world am I going to tell my parents?” I know I may have been overthinking that time but I dreaded having to see my mom during lunch time. I expected her to get angry at me, scold me, and tell me how disappointed she was for what I had not achieved. So come lunch and with the egging of my friends (I had them come with me for support), I told her the news. I was already bracing for the worst when she calmly said, “Ingana gyud na. Maayo gihapon.” (That’s how it is. That’s still good.) I could not believe my ears. Then, we went out to eat.

You see, my mom’s not all that bad. In fact, she’s been everything but. All this time, she’s been supportive of me and the things I do and have achieved. She’s always been there for us, preparing our school stuff, and being that father figure my brother and I sometimes long for whenever our dad is away from home because of work. Then again, I sometimes wish our relationship would be more than just casual conversations. I imagined myself talking to her about that cute guy who happened to pass by the hallway or how there’s this girl who’s a total snob.

Then again, when I think about it, I think I’m okay with what I have. I guess there’s a certain and subtle understanding whenever we tell each other “okay” or “God bless” as you can see if you’ll check our SMS conversations. I guess I’ve learned that you don’t really have to show you care for someone in an obvious, the-whole-world-can-see-it kind of way. You show it through the things you do; you make them feel it.

 

Meh, thank you very much for everything. It’s funny crazy how we grew closer now that I’m living in the dorm. Thank you for always looking out for us, for putting Adrianne and me ahead of you and your happiness, for all the sacrifices that you made for us. I know for a fact you made a big one when you decided to have me and I hope you’re happy with that decision. Thank you for always filling in daddy’s shoes whenever he’s away and for being a good wife to him, making us understand why he’s where he is most of the time. I’m sorry for the times I failed and/or disappointed you, for the times when I thought you didn’t care. I was being rebellious, pretty stupid, really.

The way I see it, you’ve raised us well. Adrianne turned out to be a good guy, fun-loving yet still respectful and responsible. As for me, I’m going to graduate and show you and daddy how all your hardwork was all worth it. I’ll help you out once I get a job. We’ll go to different places–Hong Kong, Korea, Paris, you name it–and I’ll shower you with the love you deserve.

So there. Happy mother’s day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

